Stun Bear?
Caveat: I'm *way* out of the loop, I haven't played D2 regularily since 2000 (you might remember me from my hammerdin guide, but probably not :D) , so take my feeble strategy thoughts with a grain of salt.

Since I'm new to the expansion, I'm experimenting with druids, and settled on a werebear. Most bears seems to be going the fireclaw + synergy fire elemental skill + armaggeddon route w/ 1.10.

I don' t much like straight character recipes, so I decided to try my own path, and I'm hoping to get some critiques from the LL folks.

The Plan:
Werebear focused on tanking (maximizing damage) and incapicitating groups of enemies.

Vital Skills:
(LVL 30 / 60 / 90)
Lycanthropy: 6/10/10
WereBear: 8/15/20
Summon Ravens: 5/5/10
Maul: 8/10/20
Shockwave: 2/10/15
Heart of Wolverine: 1/5/10
Hunger: 0/5/5
(Prereq pts: 4)

I'm still not sure about the exact numbers (he's currently level 20 and still pretty flexible).

The idea is probably pretty obvious, use ravens and shockwave to blind and stun groups, then maul and wolverine spirit to focus major damage on single targets.

Okay build? Stupid? Am I ignoring any important skills? Spread too thin?
I am playing a level 70 werebear who is somewhat similar, except that don't use Maul, and have Lycanthropy, Hunger, and Shockware maxed.

Two nights ago when he was 63, I was playing in a large basin game off by myself in act 1, while the others were doing a meph run. They told me I was playing ten levels above where I should have been, but my bear went up a level and three quarters in a few minutes, while sadly most of the others died.

I'm also playing an Armaggeddon wolf, and it will be interesting to compare the two.

You did not say what kind of mercenary you have, if any. My bear has an act 3 cold merc who can be quite effective, but it is difficult keeping him alive. I am torn - I am tempted to trade him in for a rogue or an act 2 might merc. I chose the cold merc with thoughts of lister.