Stave spell level?
Is the damage or effect of a spell cast by a staff different from that cast by hand and if so how? What spell level is a stave at if I have not yet learned its' spell? Is the same true of scrolls? Are there any wrinkles or exceptions in this? Why is the number of charges in the staves I encounter seeming to diminish as the "brute strength" (durability+damage) of the staves increases? The # of charges does start to raise again and not just tank so that the staves of early spells become simply glorified whacking sticks right?

Please consider I am very new to the game, having just purchased this classic slightly after Christmas this year; and having only played a rogue conservatively to a level 14 on dungeon level 5(normal) and a warrior to level 8 on 3(normal). So please try to word out the more "in depth" shorthand and forgive the naivete. *hehe* Hope you guys are nostalgic for helping out newbies. I'm also new to forums, having mostly engaged in live chat but have looked at a few of the posts and am thus attempting to adapt and not annoy. So please attempt to be understanding in that too.