Fire Sorc with Orb?
I haven't played since 1.09, so when I started playing again, I decided to make a good ol' nova/orb sorc. After a while, I realized that Nova was sorta on the sucky side; not that the spell had been weakened, but that all the other spells were so much better, with their little synergies.

I'm about to call my sorc, now in her early 70's, a scratch, and start on a new build.

People have told me that Fireball is the way to go, but I really don't like the idea of a mono-tree sorc. Is it possible to have a Fireball/Orb sorc?

If I use Orb, it means I'll have to drop one of the synergies for Fireball, most likely Firebolt. Will she still be doing decent damage?

I want her to be PVM. I've calculated out the skill points, and there are 17 prerequisite skills/utility spells that need a point in them. Subtracted from the 112 skill points in the game, thats 95 skill points.

This means I will be able to max 4 skills, and nearly max a synergy.

Do you think this can be done? Here's what my skill allocation looks like in my mind. Note that I haven't looked at the damage of Fireball with only 1 synergy and Fire Mastery maxed.

Frozen Orb:20
Fireball: 20
Meteor: 20
Fire Mastery: 20

Prereqs and Utility spells (1 each): Firebolt, Inferno, Firewall, Charged Bolt, Lighting, Chain Lightning, Energy Shield, Teleport, Static Field, Telekinesis, Ice Bolt, Ice Blast, Frost Nova, Glaciel Spike, Blizzard (17 total)

The rest would go into Firebolt.

What do you guys think?
A clvl 99 character with all quests will have 110 skill points, not 112.

One obvious exclusion from your list is cold mastery. There's absolutely no reason not to put at least one point in it if you use any cold attack spell. If you want your frozen orb to do something, more points would definitely be a good thing.