Lag in game (uswest)
Not sure what is causing the problem. Any how, i play on uswest and it seems that when i stand still my ping is fine but when i start attacking things or run around my ping goes from around 200 up to in between 500 to 1000. It means that i'm either attacking something that is not there or i die without any chance of escape. I have a pretty good connection to the internet (512K) so i don't think this could be the problem (maybe it is??) I just wondered if there was any in game tweaking i can do ? Or any other suggestions of what the problem could be.

Cheers,
Jus
Damn it!! I just did a really nooby stuff up, but i'm a noob so that s ok.

Can a Mod please move this to the Diablo 2 general discussion please?
Battle.net lags. All the time. I've got a cable modem connection and there are still quite a few hours in the day where the game is all but unplayable. The best way to get the least lag is play during non-peak hours, like 3am-11am and sometimes in the middle of the afternoon. If you go on from 4pm-midnight, expect a lot of lag.

Anyways, your problem sounds pretty normal. When you're standing still there's very little interaction going on with the server, but once you start doing things it's often a game of "tag" between the client and the server, which is why you get lag spikes when you start moving around from a prone position.
Alea Jacta Est - Caesar
Guild Wars account: Lurker Wyrm
There are a lot of variables involved with 'lag', or internet latency. You might have a fast connection to the internet, but the internet is made of a bunch of networked computers, and if you have to journey through a lot of them on the way to uswest's server, that'll slow you down. Furthermore, Battle.net's servers, while fast, aren't capable of taking on peak usage hours without some slowdown. People who run bots to level characters and do mfing runs only add to the problem. (I wish Blizzard would be more aggressive with these guys.)