Vengeance pally needs help
Hi, lurked here on and off over the years and had a question (for both entertainment :) and game-related material). I recently started playing dii again and I'm quite new to 1.10. I'm playing realm non-ladder on useast, and my vengeance pally is currently going into nightmare act 2. Had a few questions regarding my vengeance pally. If it matters, I party with a frenzy barb most of the time who uses a might merc, and I use a holy freeze merc. I'm lvl 42.

Equipment I've picked up from norm baal runs and here and there (keep in mind I don't get much decent stuff even when I play regularly, what little time I get to play I'd rather spend killing monsters than mfing):
Butcher's Pupil
Death's Gloves & Belt
Gorefoot
Steelclash socketed with a perfect diamond
Wormskull
Mahim Oak Curio, cathan's seal, 3% mana leech ring (with a couple of rare resists ar rings in stash)
Spirit Forge (2 sockets)
mostly small charms with various resists/+life (I have mostly maxed resists in nm and will probably opt for a socketed pally shield full of p diamonds for hell play).

My first question is what should I socket in Spirit Forge? I have a +7min dmg/+ar jewel, but I was thinking 2 perfect rubies. I'm quite poor so wondering if common runes or other p gems would be better.

I also have a question about skills. I've read some guides posted about (diabloii.net), and my current skills.
Conviction 10
3 resists auras with 4 pts apiece.
Holy shield 5.
Vengeance 1.
Redemption 1.
1 in all prereqs.

Is it advisable to keep pumping conviction, or resists auras, or holy shield? I don't want to ruin my character for hell play is what I'm most concerned about. I'll be looking to tread there at lvl 60-70.

Hope some more experienced paladin players can point me in the right direction, thank you for taking the time to read this and respond (apologize if my post is all over the place, I'm in dire need of sleep).