Anyone have any tips on swapping a power supply?
I have this Antec case + power supply, and I just bought this Fortron 400W PSU to replace it. The 350W Antec works just fine, but it always makes a faint high-pitched whine that is really annoying me. I bought the 400W Fortron on recommendation from a few friends that said it was a solid PSU at a decent price.

Anyhow, tomorrow I plan on swapping out the PSUs, but I have never done such a thing before. I know my way around a case pretty well, but this is one thing I am a complete newbie at. PSUs have an awful lot of wires coming out of the back of them. Should I label the cables as I'm extracting the old ones so I can easily match up the new ones? Should I take a few pictures first so I have a bit of a roadmap to go by? SHOULD I GRAB HOLD OF THE OLD CABLES WITH MY MIGHTY FIST AND YANK THEM OUT LIKE THE PATHETIC WEEDS THAT THEY ARE, WHILE ORDERING A NEW MUG OF MEAD FROM THE NEAREST WENCH AND SINGING SONGS OF MY ANCESTORS?

Err, fan side goes down, right?
If you haven't been here already, I suggest you take a look. The PSU 101 topic has just about everything you might ever want to know about PSUs.

Anyways, if you bought a retail PSU (which I'm guessing you did) then it should come with an instruction manual that has diagrams of what connects where. Follow that and wear your little anti-shock wrist strap (to be on the safe side) when you connect to the MB and you should be fine.
Alea Jacta Est - Caesar
Guild Wars account: Lurker Wyrm
Quote:If you haven't been here already, I suggest you take a look. The PSU 101 topic has just about everything you might ever want to know about PSUs.

Anyways, if you bought a retail PSU (which I'm guessing you did) then it should come with an instruction manual that has diagrams of what connects where. Follow that and wear your little anti-shock wrist strap (to be on the safe side) when you connect to the MB and you should be fine.