Ogri'la mandatory for raiders?
Yesterday, while I was doing Ogri'la & Skyguard quests I stumbled upon the Unstable Flask of the Sorcerer (armoury link). Not only gives me Ogri'la faction the benefit of walking on the doorstep of Gruul's Lair unmolested (I'm Queen of the ogres after all!) but this flask should help raiders considerably. I have no direct experience, I'm not seriously raiding anymore, but it seems that Blizzard gives more options now to defeat "hard" encounters.
Old age and treachery will always overcome youth and enthusiasm!
It's nice, but not required. Gruul really isn't that hard anymore.
Earthen Ring-EU:
Taelas -- 60 Human Protection Warrior; Shaleen -- 52 Human Retribution Paladin; Raethal -- 51 Worgen Guardian Druid; Szar -- 50 Human Fire Mage; Caethan -- 60 Human Blood Death Knight; Danee -- 41 Human Outlaw Rogue; Ainsleigh -- 52 Dark Iron Dwarf Fury Warrior; Mihena -- 44 Void Elf Affliction Warlock; Chiyan -- 41 Pandaren Brewmaster Monk; Threkk -- 40 Orc Fury Warrior; Alliera -- 41 Night Elf Havoc Demon Hunter;
Darkmoon Faire-EU:
Sieon -- 45 Blood Elf Retribution Paladin; Kuaryo -- 51 Pandaren Brewmaster Monk
Quote:It's nice, but not required. Gruul really isn't that hard anymore.
A tad bid elitist, you think?

A guild who is just starting Gruul could make excellent use of that, I'm sure. Naturally, once you get the fight down and get better geared, it's value and use will decrease.
"Just as individuals are born, mature, breed and die, so do societies, civilizations and governments."
Muad'Dib - Children of Dune
The flasks are nice to be sure. I think a regular flask or an elixir combo is more potent, but the 30 sta on the unstable flasks are useful.

On the bright side, you can get enough apexis shards for 3 flasks per day by doing the skyguard quest to wrangle 5 aether rays, and the ogri'la quest to play Simon. These are both very easy to do in 5 minutes, for any spec/class.