Aspects of America
Hello all!

I currently work as an English teacher at a upper secondary/high school, and we're about to do the chapter on US history. I was thinking that it would be an interesting idea to assign each student (16-17 year olds) one specific phrase or terminology that they investigate and write about. Ideally, these phrases should be unfamiliar to Norwegian students, and they should illustrate one (or more) aspect(s) of American society, history, culture and ideology.

I'm thinking of terms such as:
* Manifest Destiny (migration)
* Old Money (economic values)
* Rags-to-riches (culture)
* E pluribus unum (ideology)
* "No taxation without representation" (History)
* "...with liberty and justice for all." (Patriotism, religion)

The idea (however misguided it may be;)), is that students will choose freely from this list of subjects, brave the vast libraries of teh intarweb and write a short report explaining this term. As a collection, these reports will then illuminate important aspects of America that our text book may only cover superficially.

My question to you, dear Lurkers, is: Can you think of any other phrases or terms that would fit into this type of teaching strategy? I'm sure there are loads, and I'll have to be picky and only select the most important ones. Also, these are 16-17 year old Norwegians, so it can't be too technical or obscure.

Thanks for your help!
Ask me about Norwegian humour Smile
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kTs9SE2sDTw
Quote:Angel' date='Sep 29 2008, 04:14 AM' post='154338']
Hello all!