uberdrops?
Hi,

I recently started playing D2 again, after over a years break,
and earlier today my amazon killed offed Duriel (after killing off
all of the available mercs :) sorry about that Jarulf ;) )

I'm 100% sure that earlier, when killing off an act boss for the
first time, you would get a special drop, like a rare or a unique,
but I didn't get one :angry: , is this some kind of bug or
did they just take that out of the game?

I'm plaing vanilla D2 btw, no expansion pack.

Oh, and I looked at the ladders, just for kicks, did they make
it easier to reach lvl 99, or is it just that people spend more
time playing the expansion than they did in normal D2?

-Feryar
Hail Feryar,

It *must* have been a long time since you last played! Uberdrops are no longer a first-time kick: now every time you kill an Act Boss, you get a big drop. Duriel is the exception (kinda), and sucks most of the time: they somehow messed him up bigtime.

clvl99? Weak as there: anyone can do it very easily, if they put in the time. I've heared of 40 hours straight playing to reach clvl99 - there may be faster than that.
May the wind pick up your heels and your sword strike true.
WTF (sorry about the expression but thats the only one on my face in the moment) 40 hours for lvl 99?! it took me 3 monthes to get my barb to lvl 99, how many cow runs did they do damnit?!
"It burns because its burning!"
They got rushed. They just tag along while a few friends do the killing basically just riding the coat tails.

As for the drops, all Act Bosses do the same strength of drop every time, which can work out to be from nothing to several nice items. Duriel as already mentioned is most likely to get a no-drop. Baal can yield a no-drop effect sometimes if killed adjacent to a wall (a bug apparently) and Andariel still seems to love toying with her pretty rocks. Duriel usually pops a Town Portal Scroll in an effort to address the no way out issue too.
Heed the Song of Battle and Unsheath the Blades of War