what's the point?
Just recently played D2 again... bought LOD last month.... last played around year 2000 (yikes!). I'm basically a newbie... anyway, to the question.... I started playing on B.net (first time really) and really enjoyed it coz it was the first time I actually read something about character development... then I read about the loooooong wait for the 1.10 patch... I think I read somewhere that you'd have to start a new character for 1.10... if that's the case what's the point playing now and building up my char?
Uhmmm.... yep, I'm a n00b
To just enjoy the game?

Or not........only you can say what the point of playing is for you. :rolleyes:
And you may call it righteousness
When civility survives,
But I've had dinner with the Devil and
I know nice from right.

From Dinner with the Devil, by Big Rude Jake

... an assumption made (and spread) by many people.

In fact, you can use every character you had before 1.10. Whether or not they'll be worth using is something entirely different (since balance is changing, but we don't know what the results will be yet).

In 1.10 ladder characters will have to be new, but you don't sound like a devout ladder player anyway.
Trade yourself in for the perfect one. No one needs to know that you feel you've been ruined!
Aye, both of you are right.... perhaps I just needed the affirmation... perhaps I have been reading too much and just took myself out of just enjoying the game...

Honestly don't know what ladder playing is but if it's something that'll require a lotta time I guess I ain't the type...

thanks... ok, time to play :D
Quark,Apr 24 2003, 12:51 PM Wrote:In 1.10 ladder characters will have to be new, but you don't sound like a devout ladder player anyway.
People I know aren't going to be playing ladder chars for the ladder. It'll be for the fresh, start-from-scratch economy.

-- CH
From http://www.battle.net/diablo2exp/basics/ch...ctertypes.shtml