More Excitement
I just started playing D2 again after a couple month vacation from it. As a single player, I find that when I get the oppurtunity to download a patch, Blizzard likes to make it so single players can't get any good stuff. I am currently looking for an item drop mod that increases my chance to get (good) rares, sets, and uniques. Know of any?

I would also like to get a mod that changes some of the game things, like making Rabies last longer/contagious like Jonathon Spectre described. But with 1.10 comeing, I hope that Blizzard changes those things.

Come to think about it, being able to hire a merc from each act and simulate a party would be great.
I suggest that you go to http://d2mods.xfernet.com and read up on modmaking.

The changes that you are looking for are very easy to accomplish, and you'll probably take more pride over playing something that you modded yourself. It might take a little time to understand how to use the tools that are needed, but after that it's a piece of cake. I warn you though, once you start modding it's hard to stop, and you'll probably never want to play Vanilla LoD again. :)

EDIT: I'm not sure about getting multiple mercs, and I'm pretty sure you won't be able to make rabies "contagious," but there are SO many things you can do. If you've never played a mod before, I suggest you try out one of the hosted mods on said site, you won't be disappointed.
I don't host my mod there, for a variety of reasons. Maybe someday I will. For now, I won't. :D