Schaefer's Hammer
I thought I'd seen every unique by now but a couple of days ago I picked up "Schaefer's Hammer", which I don't recall ever having seen before. This is an odd little number -

Schaefer's Hammer
-100% Damage
Lightning Hit Damage 1-50
Hit Points +50
Chance To Hit +30%
Resist Lightning 75% MAX
+10% Light Radius

Yes, that *minus* 100% damage. Huh? Then it's 1-50 lightning damage. I don't know much about this sort of stuff but I assume that means 1-50 dam against most monsters, but nothing from the weapon against lightning immunes (I might as well just kick them, in other words). Any explanation of this would be appreciated. But basically it looks like it's got great damage most of the time, good extra HPs, handy TH, great Lightning resist, Light Radius good or bad depending on how you play. With minus 100% damage... What a weird item.

Okay, I've almost always played Rogue so I have no real experience with hammers but I actually rather like this one. You know the barrels from which skeletons emerge when smashed? With this thing the blow that smashes the barrel also kills the skeleton half the time, a really neat effect I'd never seen before. I tried a non-magical hammer and didn't get the same effect so I don't know if it's just the 1-50 dam or a special effect of the SC but it's fun.

And that got me remembering other weird uniques. Torn Flesh of Souls, for instance. What is that graphic supposed to be? The Gotterdammerung and the Constricting Ring are like opposite ends of a weirdness spectrum; either no resists with ludicrously strong other powers or max resists but it saps the life out of you! So, any nominations for weirdest unique?

Mick.
The -100% damage should only affect the weapon's damage, your "character damage", as calculated by Strenght and level is not affected. I think the weapon need a large tohit bonus to effective though.

A little advice, it is not a good idea to talk badly about Torn flesh of Souls on this forum.