Which first, D2 or D2-LOD
Hello all,
I am pretty new to all of this, a friend got me hooked on Diablo about a month ago. Amazingly, after the amount of time I spent playing, my wife bought me the Diablo Warchest for my birthday. I am still playing D1, but am also going to try D2. My question is, is there any good reason to start with D2 or should I just load LOD and start from there. I don't have any characters yet, so I will start with Act 1 in either case. I seems to me that I should start with LOD since it has some additions to D2 (in addition to the extra act). Would I be missing something by not starting with D2 and converting my characters later?

Kawayanan
Hi,

And get the latest patches right away. There is nothing to be gained by playing the original D2 as far as I'm concerned.

--Pete

How big was the aquarium in Noah's ark?

Pete,Oct 18 2003, 08:45 AM Wrote:Hi,

And get the latest patches right away.  There is nothing to be gained by playing the original D2 as far as I'm concerned.

--Pete
Hail Pete,

I just had to throw in that I feel the "perfect" patch was somewhere between 1.04 and 1.06 for numerous reasons:

1.) Gambling was very useful because of a good chance of uniques and rares were the best in the game, which leads me to #2...

2.) Rares were actually picked up by EVERYONE and used. It was at this strange time in the patches that all of Diablo’s devices were used and enjoyed ~ i.e. all the "normal" uniques, all the quests, all the rares, EDIT - gems, etc.

3.) Because of the lower end items (i.e. "normal" items), you had to work in groups to take out bosses for the most part. This was really exciting and it seemed that someone died once in at least every three games.

3A) What I liked the best about bosses was that they dropped good the first kill only and then after that dropped like normal monsters with a slightly higher MF rate.