Possible to LAN d1?
Hello,

My brother and I started playing d1 again and cannot figure out how to play with eachother through our network. Is it even possible to do so? If it is, how?

Does anyone run a server? If so how many d1 players do you have? My brother and I can't play on b.net together(latency). I think it is because we are using the same cable line(same ext. ip#). I'd really like to try some other servers. We are both legit to the core.
Quote:My brother and I started playing d1 again and cannot figure out how to play with eachother through our network. Is it even possible to do so? If it is, how?

It's certainly possible. That's what the IPX option is for.
"What contemptible scoundrel stole the cork from my lunch?"

-W.C. Fields
When I click on IPX it says, "Unable to initialize selected connection method." Do you think I need to configure my pc differently?
Either your PC, your network, or both.
You need to install the IPX protocol on both computers.
Quote:Hello,

My brother and I started playing d1 again and cannot figure out how to play with eachother through our network. Is it even possible to do so? If it is, how?

Does anyone run a server? If so how many d1 players do you have? My brother and I can't play on b.net together(latency). I think it is because we are using the same cable line(same ext. ip#). I'd really like to try some other servers. We are both legit to the core.

Most likely this indicates the use of an inferior NAT device which cannot (or at least, is not yet) mangling packets correctly. You will have the same problem regardless of what server you play on. If you want to fix it, look for documents on "port forwarding." Also, you may need to change the UDP port on which Diablo listens. Depending on your NAT device, it may be smart enough to make everything else work once you get different UDP ports. Search for "Game Data Port" in relation to Blizzard games for information on changing the UDP port.
yeah what he said.:)